About Kozhikode District

Kozhikode District is a district of Kerala state, on the southwest of India.Kozhikode district is bordered by the districts of Kannur and Mahe (Pondichery) to the north, Wayanad to the east,  Malappuram the south, and the Arabian Sea to the west.Today Kozhikode is one of the best cities in Kerala. Endowed with lush green countrysides, serene beaches, historic sites, wildlife sanctuaries, rivers, and hills, this city enchants both its inhabitants and its guests. With its unique culture and friendly ambiance, Kozhikode is a wondrous destination for all.

The city of Calicut, the Anglicized form of Kozhikode, is the headquarters of the district. The district of Kozhikode is 38.25% urban and is bordered by Kannur district to the North, Wayanad to the East, and Malappuram to the South. To the West, lies the mighty Arabian Sea. The district is situated between latitudes 11° 08’N and 11° 50’N and longitudes 75°30’E and 76°8’E.

The division of the district into 4 Taluks came into effect in 2001. They are: Kozhikode, Vadakara, Koyilandy and Thamarassery. As per the census of 2011, 12 block panchayats make up the district of Kozhikode. Namely Balusseri ,Chelannur , Koduvally ,Kozhikode, Kunnamangalam ,Kunnummal ,Melady, Panthalayani, Perambra, Thodannur, Thuneri, and Vadakara.